A little clarification

Now just to clarify, it’s not that I hate people who seem to be incapable of crossing the  two steps magic threshold and shuffling to the rear of the bus, or those that merely choose not to – they just stress me out.

Especially on trolley busses. When I get on a bus and I can see that there is a ton of room at the back, or heaven forbid an empty seat or two, yet the people who got on at a stop before mine seem to be congregating around the middle in a horde (or is it hoard, I can’t be sure :) ) anxiety then arises at the thought of having to part the proverbial seas and make my way to the back because there sure as hell ain’t any reason I will opt to be squished up against strangers needlessly. I mean I can get through, but it’s not always easy. Especially when I have a ginormous bag and usually another smaller bag or groceries. This also makes it stressful to stand amongst the crowd, because then my groceries have to go on the floor… and I worry about maiming people with my ginormous bag … and it’s just a mess.

Strangely enough, even if I’m already comfortably situated in a seat at the back seeing the middle/front part of the bus jam packed when there’s more than ample room at the back makes my anxiety levels rise. Why won’t someone just step up to the back and give everyone some breathing room?!? I am aware this may not be normal… but still, come on people just take the first step – I promise the second one will be easier.

I’m not sure why so many people won’t keep going past the stairs, even if there is an empty seat . Maybe it’s because they’re getting off the bus in a few stops and don’t want to commit to a seat, or maybe they’re just lazy. Perhaps it really is due to an invisible barrier that exists above the stairs – ooh perhaps it’s a genetic thing that only a select few can pass through, much like those who can roll their tongue into a circle or those whose pee smells funny after eating asparagus.
Regardless, it stresses me out. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not going to have a panic attack over it, but my anxiety level does go up a notch or two. So no, I do not hate you people who do not attempt the two stair climb, I’m just kind of neurotic sometimes and you stress me out.

About Lauren W

I am a combination of contradictions and approximately 18 kinds of awesome.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A little clarification

  1. Reallyprofound says:

    Maybe the horde was hoarding the middle??
    Good read – I always push to the back, screw the lot of them!

  2. Jen S says:

    I realized the other day, I don’t go up there because the seating is too compact (I get anxious when sitting to close to people) and standing up there is worse, there are few poles to hang on to and the upper bar to hold is too high, even for me who is not necessarily a short person. You stand in single file and if you want to get off you disturb too many people. Sorry to add to your anxiety, but it’s an anxiety saver for me.

  3. If the bus is moving, I aint moving!

Leave a Reply

