Is this a thing… or am I crazy?

Is there any rhyme or reason to where the doors stop on the Skytrain? I mean obviously they stop in the same place, but can you figure out where they’ll stop at each station?

I think I’ve found a pattern. In almost all stations (I’ve found the exception at Main Street where they don’t have advertisements) they have advertisements, but there’s breaks in the the ads at certain spots. Like so:

That's Trevor Linden's right shoulder there.

I’ve figured out that those breaks are where the doors stop, so if you’re waiting at a busy stop and people are scattered in random spots where they vaguely remember it stopping in the past you could totally have the upper hand on them. Elbow past any pushy people that try to make up for their complete lack of ability to notice this pattern, or obvious failure to read this blog.

90% of the time I’ve made this observation it’s worked. Is this something that’s widely known or is it something that I’m revealing now?

About Jen S

The purpose of life is to find humorous blog material
This entry was posted in Skytrain. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Is this a thing… or am I crazy?

  1. Reallyprofound says:

    Yeah always known this. I spotted it first one time in 2007 when I saw a parade of tiny Filipino women fighting for position with no train in sight. Sure enough, Aggripina got on first.

  2. SpiderRider3 says:

    OMFG. How could I not have noticed this before?

  3. Jen S says:

    Thanks for stroking my ego SpiderRider3, glad to be the one to inform you.

    And thanks for sharing that info sooner Reallyprofound, thought us Translink riders were in this together.

  4. M Coulson says:

    Or, look at the ultra-dirty parts on the yellow strip…

  5. Great suggestions! None of them would have ever dawned on me, unless I saw a line up, like at Scott Rd. Station.

Leave a Reply

