Trip Planning

I moved to Surrey and began a longer commute last week. The night before my first commute to work I decided to use the ol’ Trip Planning tool on the Translink website to see how long it would take to get from King George Skytrain (where I would be dropped off in the luxury of a car) to Main Street Station.

I entered my information, asked it to have me arrive by 9:45am and hit the next button. The first route under the Trip Options of course gave me the most logical course, which was taking the skytrain until I reached Main Street. It listed the time it would take me (33 minutes), just like I needed and then it gave me some other options.

Take a look:
Those other options aren’t telling you to climb the stairs at King George and get on the train, instead they’re telling you to get on various buses to other Skytrain Stations to take a train to Main Street. In some cases adding up to 13 minutes to your commute.

Now, why would someone use any of those options that force you to arrive earlier and take one or more transfers?

I can’t necessarily say I’m surprised that Translink is trying to make our lives more difficult through all aspects of their business.

About Jen S

The purpose of life is to find humorous blog material
This entry was posted in Routes, Service, Skytrain. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Trip Planning

  1. Audacity says:

    Reminds me of the time trip planner told me to take the 480 from Richmond Centre to Garden City Road, get off, and then take the next 480 to complete my trip to UBC.

    This was before the whole Bridgeport Station re-routing too (in other words, pre-Canada Line), so it made no sense whatsoever.

    That trip planner is so evil. If it had a mouth, it’d probably laugh at us… and spew pro-Communist slogans at us or something. I dunno. It’s evil. Who knows what it might do.

    • Jen S says:

      You are so right.
      I can feel that thing laugh at me as I try and try and try to enter an address for my start and destination and it refuses to accept any of them. The only option ever is to give a Skytrain station, even though it still gives you a list of places that it believes you could be referring to. Then I just give up, throw caution to the wind and take a chance on a route that makes sense to me.

  2. CameoAppearance says:

    I’ve always used Google Maps’ transit directions, and this kind of thing is not an incentive to switch to TransLink’s in-house version. (Although Google Maps has also been known to produce bizarre alternative routes that miss the point spectacularly, it’s just that they have fewer other problems.)

    • Jen S says:

      good idea! I don’t know why I never thought of that since I’ve used them in the past and found them so much easier than Translink (not necessarily better routes, but functionally easier)

  3. It’s just the way the software works. The computer looks at your starting point, then your destination, and lists all the possible ways to travel in between. The computer isn’t sentient, it can’t look at the routes and go “this one doesn’t make sense, no one would ever use that one etc. and hide those.

  4. Sometimes the longer option is better because everybody else is taking the best option. The worst option has seats available.

Leave a Reply

