First come, first serve?

He totally stole my seat

Is it just me or does anyone else observe a seat hierarchy on the bus or skytrain?

Let me explain… when I get on the train after work there’s generally no seats to be had but within a stop or two some seats will open up. Generally when these seats open up people will point to it and ask others if they want it before sitting down. If someone older, with children or carrying a lot of bags is standing they’re given first rights to the seat.

I always feel like those who have been on the bus/train the longest should get first dibs on the seat and it aggravates me when people will kindly wait for others to get off before they make a move for the seat only to be thwarted by someone just getting on.

I then stew silently. It’s not like I need to sit, in fact I’ll stand a lot of the time because I’ve been sitting at work all day. It’s the principle. I feel like you can’t just waltz on and expect to sit down when others are waiting for that seat, most of who are just adhering to the rules of clearing the area before taking a seat.

So I beg of people, be kind and look around before you get on the bus and take a seat, someone else could be waiting for it.

Is it just me, or does anyone else find this rude and annoying?

About Jen S

The purpose of life is to find humorous blog material
This entry was posted in Fellow Transit Riders, Is it just me?. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to First come, first serve?

  1. Gus says:

    Agree with you ten thousand percent. When you go to a restaurant, you don’t go sit down at a just-left table when there’s a lineup of people waiting to be seated. Transit is no different. While it’s certainly a hard ‘rule’ to enforce, I think it’s one of those things that should just fall under ‘common sense transit etiquette’.

    You know, like wearing deodorant.

  2. Audacity says:

    Nice post. :)

    I wrote a response to your observations on Priority Seating; we wheelchair users seem to have our own little rules about who goes on first and who goes where as well! :)

  3. Pingback: I’m standing here! | Tales of translink

  4. christina says:

    Thats stupid, just becuz ppl have been waiting for a seat to open up doesnt intitle them to it. It is first come first serve. Deal with it. Obviously one should move if theres elderly or pregnant r disabled but ppl work all sorts if shifts. Who knows whos on their way home after standing all day. Or just whatever. It would be better if trains were more frequent and had less failures. But until then it just is what it is. Sonetimes u luck out abd sonetimes u dont.

  5. vicky says:

    I agree, BUT half the time when I get on the skytrain and its full, after a seat empties up ill wait a minute or two to see if anyone else wants it and no one does so I sit there.. You can’t complain about another person taking a seat if you do nothing to show you want it.

Leave a Reply

